I know what I want

7 08 2007

I don’t normally write about my day or my job for that matter, but I just felt like updating a little about my career. Plus that it has been a pretty interesting day today.

So, where should I start…

Okay, for those not in the know, I am currently attached to a Bank under the Management Associate Program, whereby in a nutshell, the 10 of us in this 15 months program enjoy the privilege of rotating among various divisions within the Bank which are related to our core division (in my case, I’m anchored at Retail Commercial Banking Division). Without the slightest hint, it has been 1 year since I joined the Bank. Life @ work has been interesting so far. All the rotations could only mean that I do not have a fixed job function. In fact, my only job for this past year had been to learn and absorb all I can from the rotations. Not bad huh? Kinda like Uni, except I’m being paid. But of course, there are the occasional brain-dry a.k.a boredom sessions from having to float from division to division and living like a nomad with no permanent seating or PC!

Anyway, after 15 months of training, I am supposed to be permanently anchored to a unit within my division. However, 3 months to the end of our 15 months program, our Head of Division has decided to base us (me and another MA colleague) permanently in our unit of choice. Since chasing targets do not cause me to have an adrenalin rush, hence becoming a Marketing Manager or an Account Manager was a no-no for me. Thus, my only other option was to be in the Business and Strategic Planning Department. To which I chose to be in the Portfolio Management Unit. In brief, my life at work now revolves around figures, statistics, percentages, spreadsheets, analysis and analysis. Sounds interesting? Yea, I know how you feel. Almost everyone who knows what I do commented “Boring” or “It’s so not you”. And I know why. People see me as the one out there, running around and not staying in the office staring at the monitor 9 hours a day. And honestly, given a choice, I would have wanted to be in the Corporate Affairs Marketing Division- running events and campaigns for the Bank. But oh well, as much as they say that life is about choices, I found out that while it is true, it is not always true šŸ™‚ . Yet, truth be told, it ain’t half bad. In fact, I find it pretty interesting. And I’m beginning to detest it when people walk pass my desk and ask if I’m having fun, in that ‘your-job-is-so-boring’ tone. Well, given the freedom to speak with apathy, I would have replied “Oh, what I’m doing is a thousand times more interesting than yours, which is cleaning up people’s shit šŸ˜‰ “.

So rounding things up, I should mention that while being in PMU is my choice but not my ultimate wish, so far it has been pretty interesting. I have always enjoyed doing things with the computer, getting technical and putting my analytical mind to the test. And I’m getting to do all that and more in PMU. PMU in my division is a pretty young team and it is my HOD’s wish to strengthen the team. I do see potential in PMU and so despite what others think, I’m sticking to it! šŸ™‚

Oh and today, work ended at 4.45pm due to power outage in the whole tower. In quite an instant, the uber-quiet office turned into a night market šŸ˜€

Also, I just wanna mention that I was inspired today by a friend. Something he said made me realise that I should start planning for my future seriously as in, stop focusing on having fun and thinking more about building assets. Well, I would not go into details, but let’s just say I now know what I want. Be it in career, life or relationships.

Sidetrack: As I blog, I’m watching ‘Evan Almighty’ and a line from the movie hit home. So often we hear people say that they want to change the world, even me myself. But people who says they wanna change the world often do not know where to start. The question is how or where do we start? Start with “One act of random kindness at a time” – so says God from Evan Almighty. šŸ˜€ ‘Evan Almighty’ is pretty much based on the story of Noah’s Ark from the Bible, with a twist of the modern world.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

